KENNEWICK, Wash.--Fans packed the Toyota Center Saturday night for the conclusion of the first-ever Professional Bull Riders Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour event held in the Tri-Cities. It was fitting that the weekend's winner, Cody Casper, is a Washington native. Originally from Newport, Casper rode flawlessly--earning points during all three of his rides in front of the home-state crowd.

The 28-year-old was one of nine competitors to record a score in Round 1, covering Teddy Bear (Big Bend/Flying Five) for 80 points. He carried that momentum into the Second Round on Saturday--first by riding Supreme (H5 Bucking Bulls) for 58.5 points.The two scores set up a Championship Round showdown against Round 1 winner Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez.

Alvarez scored a qualifying time on top of Lil Bit Crazy (Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger).

However, Casper was the last man to leave the chute--and the home-state hero would not be deterred. He climbed aboard Sitting Bull (Diamond Willow/Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger).

The 87.5 point result was enough to earn Casper his sixth career PBR victory, and the glittering buckle of the Tri-Cities Classic. The win moved him up 36 positions in the world rankings. Now ranked No. 58, he's within 157 points of the Top 30, and a seeded position on the elite Unleash The Beast series.

Cody Casper in the stands after winning the Tri-Cities Classic

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour – Tri-Cities Classic: Complete Results

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cody Casper, 80-58.5-87.5-226.00-37 Points.

2. Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez, 87.5-0-88.5-176.00-34 Points.

3. Gage Gay [1], 86-0-0-86.00-14 Points.

4. Thor Hoefer II, 84-0-0-84.00-9 Points.

5. Lane Nobles, 83.5-0-0-83.50-5 Points.

(tie). D.J. Parker [2], 83.5-0-0-83.50-5 Points.

7. Kyle Jones, 0-83-0-83.00-8 Points.

(tie). Wyatt Rogers [2], 83-0-0-83.00-2 Points.

9. Bo T Vocu, 81.5-0-0-81.50-1 Points.

10. Wylee Hurst, 0-81-0-81.00-4 Points.

11. Bob Mitchell, 63-0-0-63.00

Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0.00

Dakota Louis, 0-0-0-0.00

Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00

D.J. Parker [1], 0-0-0-0.00

Dalton Rudman, 0-0-0-0.00

Gage Gay [2], 0-0-0-0.00

Jory Markiss, 0-0-0-0.00

Wyatt Rogers [1], 0-0-0-0.00

Francisco Morales, 0-0-0-0.00

Eduardo de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00

Dalton Davis, 0-0-0-0.00

Jake Davis, 0-0-0-0.00

Kane Taylor, 0-0-0-0.00

Cody Campbell, 0-0-0-0.00

Austin Covington, 0-0-0-0.00

Cody Hudson, 0-0-0-0.00

Jacob Ramirez [1], 0-0-0-0.00

Jacob Ramirez [2], 0-0-0-0.00

Brett Scull, 0-0-0-0.00

Anthony Hopen, 0-0-0-0.00

Jason Landing, 0-0-0-0.00

Anthony Bonifer, 0-0-0-0.00

Judson Burgee, 0-0-0-0.00

Cody Rouse, 0-0-0-0.00

Blaine Wiggins, 0-0-0-0.00

More From 610 KONA